Mayor and Council

View Mayor Mark Steffenson's 2021 State of the City address -- a video recap of 2020 and what is on the horizon for the Maple Grove community in 2021. A business update is also included.

Statement from Mayor Mark Steffenson - In response to the in-custody death of George Floyd and resulting civil unrest, Mayor Steffenson addresses from the perspective of the City of MaGroup_photo_1_Medium.jpgple Grove and our Police Department.

Due to the COVID-19 outbreak, online meetings were implemented as of late March. The City Council has since transitioned to a hybrid meeting with a mix of councilmembers attending in person in the council chambers or attending remotely online. Appropriate City of Maple Grove staff and the City Attorney also attend either in person or online.  

This protocol also applies to meetings of the Maple Grove Planning Commission and Maple Grove Parks and Recreation Board.  Aside from the Arbor Committee, all other city advisory commission/committee meetings have been cancelled until further notice.

Agendas and minutes for the City Council, Planning Commission and Park Board meetings can be viewed at https://bit.ly/viewmaplegrovemtg City Council and Planning Commission meetings can also be viewed live on Comcast Channel 16, and video replay is available at the aforementioned website.

Members of the public can provide comment or input on non-agenda items by submitting an online form at http://forms.maplegrovemn.gov/Forms/public-comment These comments will be reviewed and shared as part of the online meeting process.

Mark Steffenson is the current Mayor and has served since June 2001.  Councilmembers are: Karen Jaeger, Phil Leith, Judy Hanson, and Kristy Barnett.

Maple Grove is a community legally established under the laws of Minnesota. It is governed by a Mayor who serves a four-year term and four Councilmembers who also serve four-year terms. City Councilmembers serve at large. City elections coincide with the general elections held in the fall of all even numbered years.

Council Meetings

All meetings and special sessions (with the exception of those limited by law) are open to the public.

The Mayor and Councilmembers are responsible for approving operating and capital improvement budgets, employing City workers, establishing City regulations and ordinances, maintaining public facilities, and planning the City's future. The Chief of Staff for the City Council is City Administrator Heidi Nelson, who can be contacted at 763-494-6010.

Mayor and Council salary information may be found in City Code Chapter 2, Article II, Section 2-31.

Send an email to all Councilmembers: Mayor and Council.  To reach the Mayor or Councilmembers individually via email, click on their name in the listing below.

Mark Steffenson  (bio)

7588 Zanzibar Lane
Maple Grove, MN 55311
Term Expires: 12/31/22  (Appointed to Mayor 8/01; Elected 1/03)
Liaison to Community Center Owners' Team

Karen Jaeger  

8459 Rice Lake Road
Maple Grove, MN 55369
Term Expires: 12/31/22  (Elected to Council 1/99)
Liaison to Planning Commission and Lake Quality Commission

Phil Leith 

17415 79th Place North
Maple Grove, MN 55311
Term Expires: 12/31/22  (Elected to Council 1/07)
Liaison to Park Board

Judy Hanson

12263 88th Place N
Maple Grove, MN 55369
Term Expires: 12/31/24  (Appointed to Council 8/15, Elected 1/17)
Liaison to Arbor Committee

Kristy Barnett

17279 Weaver Lake Drive
Maple Grove, MN  55311
Term Expires: 12/31/24  (Elected to Council 1/17)
Liaison to Citizens Advisory Committee

Notice to the City: Communication made through e-mail or any other computer messaging system shall in no way be deemed to constitute legal notice to the City or any of its agencies, officers, employees, agents or representatives with respect to any existing or potential claim or cause of action. Additionally, communication made through e-mail or any other computer messaging system is in no way the proper or official means of communication with the City Council or the Planning Commission. For further information, please contact the City of Maple Grove at 763-494-6000, TTY users: 763-494-6599.